Meet Our New Staff and Steering Committee

July 8, 2019

Meiqun Huang (Outreach Staff): Meiqun first got involved with CPA while a Chinatown row house resident at Johnny Court. Her new landlord raised rent by hundreds of dollars and tried to evict her family by using intimidation tactics and threats, eventually being taken to court and evicted in 2017. Since being evicted, her home had been rented out as short-term rentals. Through her experience, Meiqun has become involved and outspoken on the necessity of regulating short-term rentals and preserving Chinatown row houses for working-class residents. Meiqun joins CPA staff to support drop-in services and outreach to residents and community members.

Yayin Sophia He (Outreach Staff): Sophia is an alum of the Chinese Youth Initiative program from the summer of 2014 and we’re excited to have her return to CPA! She is currently a student at UMass Boston and is supporting our Workers Center and helps coordinate the Chinese Youth Initiative summer program.

Winnie Chen (Service Administrator & APALA Fellow): Winnie recently moved to Boston from San Francisco in March and is a recent graduate of the University of California, Davis. She was also involved with the Chinese Progressive Association in San Francisco where she was involved in the youth program. Winnie joins us as our drop-in service administrator and is a fellow through APALA, the Asian Pacific American Labor Alliance. She will help develop and deepen the work of the Massachusetts APALA chapter.

Carlton Sagara (Office Manager): Carlton recently moved back to the Boston area from Hawaii. He previously lived in Boston in the 1980s and was staff at the Asian American Resource Workshop. He joins us as our office manager and assists in making sure CPA’s day-to-day office operations run smoothly.


Congratulations to our newly elected steering committee members: Co-Chairs Jian Hua Tang and Ann Wong, Treasurer Howard Wong, English secretary San Tran, Chinese Secretary Wai Chen Chan, Mun Ying Kock, Yuan Jie Kuang, De Sheng Liang, Shao Ping Mo, Rui Yi Tan, Xue Yun Zhang.